Middlesex Country Department Header
Office Home   |   Contact Us   |   Directions   |   Calendar   |   Hours   |   Search the Site   |  



"To Promote and Protect Public Health and Welfare"
Freeholder Chairperson: H. James Polos
Director-Health Officer: Lester Jones





Mission Statement

The mission of the Middlesex County Public Health Department is to promote good health and prevent disease, improve access to health services, assess changing community needs for health services, and provide health services with efficiency to improve the health of all Middlesex County residents.   The health services provided are available to residents in Middlesex County and reflect state-mandated standards of performance. The staff ensure the compliance and enforcement of the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection laws and New Jersey State regulations. The Department is responsible for the development of long-term goals and annual objectives for enhancing the quality of life for Middlesex County residents.

These communities contract with the Middlesex County Public Health Department for comprehensive public health services:

Carteret Jamesburg North Brunswick South Amboy
Cranbury Metuchen Old Bridge South Plainfield
Dunellen Middlesex Perth Amboy South River
East Brunswick Milltown Piscataway Spotswood
Helmetta Monroe Plainsboro  
Highland Park New Brunswick Sayreville  


 We maintain a proactive community partnership and have limited contracts for service with the municipalities of Edison, South Brunswick, and Woodbridge. These municipalities maintain their own health departments.


County of Middlesex
Public Health Department
Middlesex County Administration Building, 5th Floor

John F. Kennedy Square
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
(732) 745-3100 MAIN
(732) 745-2568 FAX