Middlesex County Department Header
Departments:
Department Home   |   Contact Us   |   Directions   |   Calendar   |   Hours   |   Links   |   Search the Site   |  













































Links Page    Cultural Resources and Web Sites

Learn More
about the arts, visit a virtual museum, find our about historic preservation, explore the resources of cultural institutions, see folk arts collections online, plan a visit to an historic site and more.
Just click and go!


History and Historic Sites

Library of Congress American Memory Project
          http://memory.loc.gov
Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov
New Jersey Museums Index www.njmuseums.com
National Register of Historic Places www.cr.nps.gov
NJ Lighthouse Society http://njlhs.burlco.org/about.htm
Ellis Island Museum www.libertystatepark.com/ellis.htm
Old House Journal www.oldhousejournal.com
Archaeology Magazine online www.archaeology.org
Raritan Landing www.raritanlanding.com
New Jersey Historical Commission      
         www.state.nj.us/state/history
Genealogy www.genealogylinks.net
Genealogy www.ancestry.com
Genealogy www.rootsweb.com
Civil War in America www.sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war
Civil War in America www.historyplace.com/civilwar
Civil War in America www.civilwar.com
National Trust for Historic Preservation www.nationaltrust.org
Graveyard Preservation Resources www.savinggraves.com
Black Historic Sites www.brightmoments.com/blackhistory
Supplies for Historic Preservation www.homesupply.com
Antique Resources www.antiqueresources.com
Timeline of the American Revolution
         www.ushistory.org/march/timeline.htm
African American History   
         http://afroamhistory.about.com



Other Resources

Teachers'Civil War resources www.bestteachersites.com/themes State of New Jersey www.state.nj.us
Facts and reference www.refdesk.com
New Jersey, all about www.nj.com
National Parks Guide www.nps.gov/parks.html
NJ Places of Interest - great for day trips
         www.fieldtrip.com/nj/index
Cape May Whale Watch
         http://www.capemaywhalewatch.com
Center for Holocaust Study www.depts.drew.edu/chs
Schooner Meerwald www.ajmeerwald.org
Cedar Run Wildlife Refuge www.cedarrun.org

 

Looking for local arts groups or historic organizations in Middlesex County? See our navigation buttons at the bottom of this page and click on Cultural Directory. 

Here you'll find the names of local organizations that offer arts and history programming and historic sites to visit. (Be sure to call ahead.) Telephone numbers, email addresses and web site links will help you to learn more about the remarkable cultural richness of Middlesex County.

Arts

NJ State Council on the Arts www.njartscouncil.org
National Endowment fore the Arts http://arts.endow.gov
ArtPRIDE New Jersey www.artpridenj.com
     Advocacy group for arts/cultural agencies
National Portrait Gallery www.npg.si.edu
Arts Resources www.artsresources.com
Humanities Collections  http://eserver.org
Southern Arts Federation www.southarts.org
Americans for the Arts  www.americansforthearts.org
Mason Gross School/Arts http://mgsa.rutgers.edu/index_noflash.html
Discover Jersey Arts   www.jerseyarts.com
Jersey City Museum  www.jerseycitymuseum.org

Museums and Galleries

American Visionary Art Museum  www.avam.org
Smithsonian Institution  www.si.edu
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston  www.mfa.org
Newark Museum  www.newarkmuseum.org
Mid-Atlantic Center for the Arts  www.capemaymac.org
Morris Museum   www.morrismuseum.org
Zimmerli Museum    www.zimmerlimuseum.rutgers.edu
Canadian Children's Museum   www.civilization.ca
Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts  www.pafa.org
Arts Museums  www.artmuseum.net
Sculpture Grounds to Visit  www.groundsforsculpture.org
Wheaton Village and Glass Blowing
           www.wheatonvillage.org
NJ State Museum www.state.nj.us/state/museum
NJ Naval Museum www.njnm.com
Museum of Early Trades and Crafts
             www.rosenet.org/metc/
Waterloo Village   www.waterloovillage.org
NJ Children's Museum  www.njcm.com
Noyes Museum  www.noyesmuseum.org
Montclair Art Museum   www.montclair-art.com
Princeton Art Museum   www.princetonartmuseum.org
NJ State Aquarium     www.njaquarium.org


 Home

The Middlesex County Cultural and Heritage Commission is funded in part by the
New Jersey State Council on the Arts/Department of State, a partner agency of the National Endowment for the Arts
New Jersey Historical Commission, a Division of Cultural Affairs in the Department of State

Middlesex County Cultural & Heritage Commission 703 Jersey Ave  New Brunswick, NJ 08901-3605
(732) 745 4489       FAX (732) 745 4524      Email   
culturalandheritage@co.middlesex.nj.us      TTY users only call (732) 745 3888